Home / Rscj Area / Menlo


The Menlo Area is made up of six communities, the largest of which is Oakwood, the retirement community for senior members of the province. There are seventy religious living in the area. Several of the RSCJ serve at Sacred Heart Schools, Atherton, or St. Raymond's, a parish school nearby.

Kum Soon Eum, RSCJ

2015 Jubilarian, Celebrating 50 Years as a Religious of the Sacred Heart

The middle of three children, Kum Soon Eum, RSCJ, spent her early childhood in North Korea playing with her two brothers. After WWII, her family relocated to South Korea, where she met a friend who had just entered the Society of the Sacred Heart. Sister Kum Soon had long considered the option of religious life, and was inspired by her friend’s vocation. In 1959, she responded to her lifelong call, and decided to enter the Society.   

Nancy Morris, RSCJ

Born and raised in Piedmont, California, Nancy was the middle of seven children (five boys, two girls). She attended local public schools and graduated from University of California-Berkeley in 1949. Drawn to a life of prayer, she entered the Society of the Sacred Heart in January, 1951. During her noviceship, four of her five brothers were in the Jesuit noviceship in Los Gatos.

Patricia Munch, RSCJ

2015 Jubilarian, Celebrating 60 Years as a Religious of the Sacred Heart

By Pat Munch, RSCJ

The fifth of nine children I was born in Omaha, Nebraska on December 21, 1933. I was blessed to have devoted parents who worked hard and made many sacrifices to provide for us. They were strong in their faith and taught us about God, helped us learn our prayers and made certain that we learned to take responsibility for our actions. They also made sure that and were instructed in our Catholic faith.

Kathleen Dolan, RSCJ

The eldest of five and the only girl, Kathleen Dolan (Kathy) was born in Washington D.C.  Growing up in Darien, Connecticut she lived near the Sacred Heart School in Noroton. She attended public schools until high school, when she attended the Convent of the Sacred Heart in Greenwich, Connecticut as a five-day boarder. It was during her sophomore year that she first had a quiet conviction that God was leading her to become a religious. She graduated in 1956.

Patricia Desmond, RSCJ

Early in her education, a priest came to talk to her class about the propagation of faith. He told the class about the children who were being abandoned in China. At this point, Sister Desmond told herself that she was going to help those children. In order to do so, she knew she would have to become a nun. She considers this to be the start of her vocation.